From Monday 17 June 2019 at 9:30am, to Tuesday 18 June 2019 at 6:30pm



FINO Graduate Conference (Mind, Language, and Science curriculum) / SIFA Midterm Conference


FICTION and IMAGINATION as Grounds for Counterfactual Reasoning, Scientific Modeling, and Thought Experiments



Sala Rossa

Campus Luigi Einaudi

Lungodora Siena 100











9:30 | Gregory CURRIE (University of York) [INVITED TALK]

Fictions as thought experiments



11:00 | coffee break



11:30 | Alessandro CAVAZZANA (Università di Venezia, Ca’ Foscari)

The importance of imagination in picture perception: Mental imagery and visual metaphors


12:15 | Julien GUSTHIOT (University of Paris 1)

Fiction and non-fiction. Some comments on extreme intentionalism



13:00 | lunch break



15:00 | Michal HLADKY (University of Geneva) and Steve HUMBERT-DROZ (University of Fribourg)

Imaginary invalid! Deflating the model bubble


15:45 | Malvina ONGARO (Università del Piemonte Orientale)

Narratives and the normativity of the rational agent



16:30 | coffee break



17:00 | Deena WEISBERG (Villanova University, Philadelphia) [INVITED TALK]

From fiction to reality: Learning from stories and counterfactual scenarios







9:30 | Mauricio SUAREZ (Complutense University, Madrid) [INVITED TALK]

Scientific representations for thought experiments



11:00 | coffee break



11:30 | Rawad EL SKAF (University of Salzburg)

The structure of scientific thought experiments, or an inconsistency revealers and eliminators account


12:15 | Peter HAWKE and Tom SHOONEN (ILLC Amsterdam & Arché, St. Andrews)

Are Gettier cases disturbing?



13:00 | lunch break



15:00 | Aybüke ÖZGÜN and Tom SHOONEN (ILLC Amsterdam & Arché, St. Andrews)

Modelling the pretense-imagination over time


15:45 | Jacopo FRASCAROLI (University of York)

The unprejudiced reader: Fiction and cognitive flexibility



16:30 | coffee break



17:00 | Fred KROON (University of Auckland) [INVITED TALK]

Models, fiction, and the problem of the gap




For more info contact the organizers:


Carola Barbero (

Fabrizio Calzavarini (

Vincenzo Crupi (

Andrea Iacona (

Matteo Plebani (

Alberto Voltolini (